Return to

National Pioneer Ball

General Information

The National Ball was introduced to the Calendar of the P.T.A.A. activities in 1997 by the Kilteely/Drumkeen Pioneer Youth Committee. Having obtained permission to hold such an event from the National Leisure Committee in late 1996, the committee set about organising this great event.

The first National Pioneer Ball was held in the limerick Inn Hotel in February 1997. This event has continued annually in the following locations:

  • 1998- Sharkeys Hotel, Virginia, Co.Cavan
  • 1999- Carrigaline Court Hotel, Carrigaline, Co.Cork
  • 2000- Belmont Hotel, Knock, Co.Mayo
  • 2001- The Earl Of Desmond, Tralee, Co.Kerry
  • 2002- Newgrange Hotel, Navan, Co .Meath

National Pioneer Ball 2005

The National Pioneer Ball was held in the Ambassador Hotel, Kill, Co. Kildare on Saturday 16th April 2005. This event was organised by the Dublin Diocesan Council in association with the National Youth Committee of the Pioneer Association.

Over 280 people gathered together for the National Pioneer Ball this year in Kill, Co. Kildare last April. Mass was celebrated by Fr. Michael Mac Greil, SJ (Chairman of the Board of the PTAA) and was concelebrated by Fr. Bernard McGuckian, SJ (Spiritual Director of PTAA) and Fr. Anthony O'Reilly (Dublin Diocesan Spiritual Director) at 7pm in St. Brigid's Parish Church in Kill. Ms. Mary Hanafin TD, Minister for Education and Science was invited as the guest speaker in which she expressed her support for the work of the Association in combating alcohol abuse. After the meal we also had the privledge of a brief appearance from the Tyrone Manager, Mickey Harte, who delivered a short address.

It was wonderful to witness the fantastic mix of young and old pioneers from right across the four provinces, adding to the atmosphere and making the occasion a memorable one indeed!. Music was provided by local band 'All Shades' followed by a disco and the young people present as well as the young in heart demonstrated their dancing techniques! Great tribute must be paid to the Dublin Diocesan Committee, in particular, Breege Morris and Donal Lally, for organising a very successful and enjoyable evening.